Match report: Isle of Wight RFC 1XV v Romsey RFC 1XV, 22/09/2018


Isle of Wight RFC  1XV 74-3 Romsey RFC 1XV

The Isle of Wight RFC said goodbye to a long time stalwart of the club, as Dan Taylor played his last game at the club. Credit must go to a Romsey side travelling to the Island three players light and in the early exchanges, as the home side were constantly and confusingly penalised, the depleted visitors penetrated deep in to the Island half, coming away with a penalty.

It took the Island some time to change tactics and work for the space. A catch from a kick by Jonty Sweetman saw him scorch across the damp turf to score, Lewis Murray adding the kick.

Dominating the scrums, the ball was moved wide for debutante Michael Joyce to touch down in the corner. Again with ball moved wide, Sweetman added his second, with Murray again adding the extra points. Next, a quick tap penalty by the impressive Ollie Boulter was recycled and James Webster scored in the left corner. Directly from the kick off a Murray break allowed Tom Marriott to score under the posts, the kick added. Ball now going through hands, despite the wet conditions, ended with Luke Blackman scoring his first try for the Island.

With the likelihood of the game being abandoned after 60 minutes, the home side set about gaining as many points as possible. The unfortunate visitors lost a further two players to injury, the game now little more than a training run out.

Marriott sniped through a gap and scored his second try, converted. Breaking out from their own line, Sweetman and Ed Lynch broke upfield for Marriott to complete his hat trick with a converted try. This was followed by an Alex Hay break and the ball handed to Biffa Man of the Match Dan Taylor to score. Captain Murray then broke through to score and convert, followed shortly after by a jinking run from Jim Willetts, to set up Sweetman’s hat trick score. The game and Romsey’s agony was brought to a halt after 60 minutes, completed by a Sam McQueen converted try.

The after match events were a fine tribute to the departing Taylor. IW next travel to Southampton.

IWRFC: J Sweetman, M Joyce, L Blackman, D Taylor, J Webster, L Murray, T Marriott, Andy Brown, E Lynch, I Bennett, O Boulter, D Bishop, M Newnham, S McQueen, J Willetts. Angus Brown, A Hay, A Groves.

Related links

Isle of Wight RFC

Romsey RFC